Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

> Millenium II and III software and Vista
Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+
BOBGCF
post Jul 17 2007, 10:11 AM
Post #1


Expert
****

Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 16-June 03
Member No.: 37



Are there any problems running Millenium II or III software on Vista. If so is there a patch??
Top
User is offlinePMEmail Poster
Quote Post
John Williams
post Jul 18 2007, 07:15 AM
Post #2


Enlightened One
*****************

Group: Authorized Member
Posts: 725
Joined: 23-May 03
Member No.: 3



An update for the Millenium 3 software for Vista is in progress. Since the Millenium 2 is being discontinued, no additional updates are expected.


--------------------
Visit our website at www.crouzet-usa.com for additional product and company information.
Top
User is offlinePMEmail Poster
Quote Post
bernie
post Jul 23 2007, 07:18 AM
Post #3


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 26-April 07
Member No.: 2,394



Since Vista is now standard on PC this could create major maintenance problem for M2 applications. The M3 is less than a year old and I need my laptop for maintenance of older M2 programs.
I think it would be wise to upgrade PC M2 software for Vista or provide users with a downlodable compatibility patch.
Top
User is offlinePM
Quote Post
John Williams
post Aug 1 2007, 10:32 AM
Post #4


Enlightened One
*****************

Group: Authorized Member
Posts: 725
Joined: 23-May 03
Member No.: 3



Vista has an option to run programs in an XP compatibility mode. You may want to try this. Information about this can be found on the internet through a Google search.


--------------------
Visit our website at www.crouzet-usa.com for additional product and company information.
Top
User is offlinePMEmail Poster
Quote Post
MSR20
post Oct 1 2007, 03:38 PM
Post #5


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-October 07
From: Central Florida
Member No.: 3,801



Hi

I am curious if anyone has attempted to run the Crouzet m2 or m3 software in Vista (using windows xp compatability mode)?
Top
User is offlinePMEmail Poster
Quote Post
Jose Zamora
post Oct 12 2007, 12:13 PM
Post #6


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-October 07
Member No.: 3,872



Is there going to be also a patch for the Specific Functions add on for Windows Vista?

In fact Millenium III does run correctly under Windows Vista, the problem I have is when I install the Specific Functions add on.
Top
User is offlinePM
Quote Post
Dan Test
post Nov 16 2007, 03:50 PM
Post #7


Forum Savant
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 139
Joined: 23-May 03
From: Plano, Texas
Member No.: 1



Hi,
I have been successful now on several computers installing the Millenium 3 software. This method may also work for Millenium 2 but I have not tried it.

I am working from memory here so my wording may not be correct but should be good enough to get the job done.

First,
If you have installed the software and it is not working, be sure to uninstall the software completely.

Before you run the setup.exe program you need to right click the file and select Properties. You need to set the program to run in XP Compatability mode. Close the properties dialog and right click setup.exe again. Select 'Run as Administrator' let the program finish the install. After it finishes the install, right click the icon on your desktop for the M3 Software, select properties and select run in XP compatability mode.
You should now be able to run the software.

If you are installing the Application Specific Functions make sure that you close all Crouzet Logic Software windows that are open, and follow the same procedure above for the setup.exe for Specific Functions.

IMPORTANT-- The first time you open the Crouzet Logic Software after you install the Application Specific Functions you MUST right click the icon for the M3 software and run the program as administrator.

Every time I have followed these steps the software has worked perfect on Vista. This process may also work for the M2 software, but I do not have a computer with Vista installed to try. The next time I get a chance, I will try and install the M2 software with this method, and I will post the results.



--------------------
Dan Test
Application Engineer
Crouzet Automation
Top
User is offlinePMEmail Poster
Quote Post
BrianM
post May 13 2008, 08:54 AM
Post #8


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 10-November 04
From: Westhoughton, Lancashire, England
Member No.: 480



Don't know if there have been any further updates on MII/Vista but just to confirm that Dan's procedure seems to work OK with the install.

Yes, I am also supporting MII systems which have only been in about 2/3 years and the customer wouldn't be too happy with me charging him for upgrading the hardware.

Crouzet are not on their own though when it comes to customer support. Telemecanique, Klockner Moeller et al have the same attitude ... buy this it's great. Then a few years down the road the compatibility and spare parts are no longer available, and because we've changed the design there is no backwards compatibility. Oh to be a multinational company !!


--------------------
Regards

Brian
Top
User is offlinePM
Quote Post
John Williams
post Jun 3 2008, 12:20 PM
Post #9


Enlightened One
*****************

Group: Authorized Member
Posts: 725
Joined: 23-May 03
Member No.: 3



Another step to add to the M3 software installation in MS Vista. If the software installation files are compressed into a ZIP file, they must be extracted first before the steps that Dan outlined earlier can be accomplished.


--------------------
Visit our website at www.crouzet-usa.com for additional product and company information.
Top
User is offlinePMEmail Poster
Quote Post
John Williams
post Sep 8 2008, 08:30 AM
Post #10


Enlightened One
*****************

Group: Authorized Member
Posts: 725
Joined: 23-May 03
Member No.: 3



My experiences with Vista indicate that it will find load the USB software driver from the Crouzet CD-ROM. If the Millenium software is being installed from a file on the computer, it will be necessary to select the location of the USB driver files.


--------------------
Visit our website at www.crouzet-usa.com for additional product and company information.
Top
User is offlinePMEmail Poster
Quote Post
Intec
post Apr 8 2010, 06:36 AM
Post #11


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 1-April 10
Member No.: 8,022



I am running windows 7 64 bit on my development machine and while the software itself runs no problem I can't get the USB serial driver to install at all..

I am just wondering if there is any sort of a time frame for the driver update or even any details on how anyone else has gotten around this issue. For the moment I am swapping over to an old XP machine to do work but in the long run I am concerned that a number of my customers will be buying new computers which from recent experience will have Vista at least and most will have Windows 7 64 bit.

I am focused on writing custom Applications to integrate with the Millenium controller so serial integration is fairly vital for most of my customers..

Thanks!
Top
User is offlinePM
Quote Post

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Reply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

 


Lo-Fi Version
Time is now: 1st November 2014 - 06:26 AM