Jump to content


Photo

Shift-register without the Millenium 3 Custom


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 rwkemp

rwkemp

    Tech Swami

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  • Interests:SCADA SYSTEMS, COMMUNICATION

Posted 11 March 2010 - 12:28 PM

In digital circuits, a shift register is a cascade of flip flops of type D for example, sharing the same clock, which has the output of any one but the last flip-flop connected to the "data" input of the next sequence, resulting in a circuit that shifts by one position the one-dimensional "bit array" stored in it, shifting in the data present at its input and shifting out the last bit in the array, when enabled to do so by a transition of the clock input. Below follows the illustration of a flip-flop of type D.

user posted image

For an automated process, we can apply a Shift-Register where it is necessary to "search" the information of the presence of one piece after a certain number of cycles on the equipment, for example the "virtual" shifting of a piece.

In my example, I developed one Shift-register of 8 bits. It can be very useful in the Standard models.

Only with the disadvantage of using excessive memory
Comments and suggestions are welcome

Shift Register 8 BITs V2


Best regards
Ricardo Kemp

Email: ricardo.kemp@crouzet.com
Phone: +55 11 2505-7505
http://www.cst-latinoamerica.com

#2 Mogge

Mogge

    Magister of Minutia

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 24 March 2010 - 05:21 AM

In the Millenium i would not rely on that solution.
Similar designs i have made have stopped working.
Because in the programming software you have no control of in what order the logic is evaluated in the compiled program, and it may change order when you add another part of the program.

http://www.crouzet-u...p?showtopic=432

You can use the BIT MULTIPLEXER as a level triggered D-latch by looping the noninverted output to one of the inputs, which is dependent on which clock level you want to use. This save lot of memory compared to the AND and is more reliable.

Then connect a row of them in series.

I then, because th enamed problem, suggest you clock them using the pulse-on-falling (or rising) edge blocks so only one latch each millenium cycle is clocked, beginning from the last to the first in the row.

#3 rwkemp

rwkemp

    Tech Swami

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  • Interests:SCADA SYSTEMS, COMMUNICATION

Posted 24 March 2010 - 07:18 AM

Hi Mooge

Sorry, I not understand your explanation and suggestion !

You could send us a sample of these application ?

It sure would be easier to evaluate and share with all users of this equipment

Best regards

Ricardo Kemp

Email: ricardo.kemp@crouzet.com
Phone: +55 11 2505-7505
http://www.cst-latinoamerica.com

#4 Mogge

Mogge

    Magister of Minutia

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 24 March 2010 - 09:26 AM

OK, i gave it some minutes. Enjoy! smile.gif

Attached Files



#5 rwkemp

rwkemp

    Tech Swami

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  • Interests:SCADA SYSTEMS, COMMUNICATION

Posted 24 March 2010 - 02:40 PM

Hello Morgan

I am very happy to exchange information with someone of high technical level
The market is in needing of people with this experience; congradulations !

Based on the circuit that you developed, I made small changes and created a Macro

Do not worry, you're in the credits biggrin.gif

The application Monitoring Alarms is being very accessed too

[attachmentid=239]

Best Regards

Attached Files


Ricardo Kemp

Email: ricardo.kemp@crouzet.com
Phone: +55 11 2505-7505
http://www.cst-latinoamerica.com

#6 Mogge

Mogge

    Magister of Minutia

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 24 March 2010 - 04:18 PM

Thank you !

OK, if you want it like that...

You can halve the number of BIT MULTIPLEXERs if you exchange the edge triggered pulse block to a toggle block smile.gif

See attached

[attachmentid=240]

Attached Files



#7 Mogge

Mogge

    Magister of Minutia

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 24 March 2010 - 04:21 PM

Blatant plug: You may hire my by hour through my company, just send a PM cool.gif

#8 rwkemp

rwkemp

    Tech Swami

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  • Interests:SCADA SYSTEMS, COMMUNICATION

Posted 25 March 2010 - 07:00 AM

Hi Morgan

I tryed send to you a PM message but show to me one error.
I do not know what is happening !

I apologize but, what is Blatant plug

Please send to me your PM in the address below
Ricardo Kemp

Email: ricardo.kemp@crouzet.com
Phone: +55 11 2505-7505
http://www.cst-latinoamerica.com

#9 Mogge

Mogge

    Magister of Minutia

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 25 March 2010 - 09:44 AM

QUOTE(rwkemp @ Mar 25 2010, 03:00 PM)
I apologize but, what is Blatant plug

Shameless (self-) promotion

I sent you a PM.
EDIT: no you are right the system is broken...
I try to mail you.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users